travels part 3: Salton Sea and Slab City

We arrived in the California desert last night, and have set up camp in Slab City, a community of squatters near Niland, California. About 400 people are currently set up to camp here, although apparently more will arrive as the winter moves on.

dilapitated tent

I tried setting up my sad tent that David and I took across Canada earlier this fall, and one of the poles promptly broke on me as I struggled to get the thing upright. Fortunately, a nearby camper had a decent supply of both broken tent poles and duct tape, and my tent has been erected, albeit slightly more dilapitated than before.

I really missed living in a tent, and I’m finding myself welcoming the inconveniences of camp life, despite my less than ideal shelter. We drive into town each morning for breakfast and to use running water, but generally we are living in the bush. Nights are spent drinking around the campfire, playing guitar, and telling stories. Lung and Claire take off for the good light at sunrise and sunset, and I wander about by starlight hoping for inspiration for songs. This morning I woke up when it was still night, and watched until the sky started to lighten and I finally saw the sun rise up over the mountains in the East. It is very beautiful here, and I am exhilirated to be out of the city once more.

~ by Natasha Duchene on November 4, 2008.

3 Responses to “travels part 3: Salton Sea and Slab City”

  1. Wow, that tent is still going? nice one for keeping it alive, that tent has some miles on it. . .

  2. […] we were traveling through the desert last fall, Lung and I did a shoot at Bombay Beach, which he submitted to PDN and Billboard […]

  3. […] we were traveling through the desert last fall, Lung and I did a shoot at Bombay Beach, which he submitted to PDN and Billboard […]

Leave a Reply

 
